Queria norte?

All North Americans have their opinions about immigrants. After being almost solely among Latinos in Dallas for a couple weeks, I don’t really care what the North American opinions are. It. is. hard. for immigrants, especially illegal immigrants, to have a good life in the United States.

Latinos are taken advantage of. They are yelled at and belittled in the work place. I’m talking about legal immigrants here. And for those who are illegal workers, they are offered extremely low pay at a very high cost. You don’t want to work 10 hours a day, 7 days a week? Well Gringo Joe can find another immigrant who will, and you can say good bye to your job.

They have a saying here among Latinos: Queria norte? You wanted the north? When it gets tough to be here, you can ask, “Hey. Did you want to come to the U.S. or not? Yes? Well, here it is.” You got what you asked for is the gist of it.

Sometimes I joke with Rafael when our cultural differences collide. Queria gringa? You wanted an American girl? “Here I am.” I smile at him with a hopeful grin.

“Yes. Of course!” He’ll smile back and kiss me. “Te amo, mi gringa loca.” Yo queria latino tambien.

_____

Lately I’ve found myself complaining about everything:

God, this is too hard.
God, I trust You, but I don’t like it this way.
God, I know You’re good, but could You change _____ about my life?

And he comes back to me with these words: Queria Cristo? You wanted Christ?

The life of faith is not easy. It hurts and it’s hard and it stretches our hearts and souls more than we thought possible.

So He says to me: I didn’t tell you it would be easy, baby girl. It’s not supposed to be easy. This is life in Me. Isn’t that what you wanted? Or do you want to go back to what you came from?

Isn’t that what you wanted?

Yes, that’s what I wanted–the life of Christ. I’m trying to remember not to ask God to take away the hard things, and trying to remember that the calling I have received was not for a simple life. It was for this life. The life of Christ.

Maybe not all immigrants queria norte, but, queria Cristo?

Forever and ever, Yes.

One thought on “Queria norte?

  1. So, I love this a lot. And you šŸ™‚ It’s true- living a life of faith is hard. Really hard, sometimes. The first thing that popped into my head when I read this was Romans 8:18. “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.” We are called to live by the Spirit, who has freed us from a spirit of slavery and fear. That does mean abandoning a life lived by the flesh, though. For Paul, it meant torture, imprisonment, and death, among other things. There is a cost for us as well, if not necessarily that physically hefty. Living by faith could mean separation from family and friends or a less comfortable life than we could have, and certainly surrendering control of our lives. All the same, there is a great reward. The entire cost added together is not worth comparing to the glory that is to come. So. Awesome. And don’t you think God’s heart leaps for joy when His children count the cost and choose to live by faith and love and serve Him faithfully anyway? He yearns for us. Sometimes, I too say, “This is hard, Daddy. It hurts. This isn’t what I wanted.” But then He reminds me of the way He changed my life and how faithful and good I know He is. How could I possibly want to go back there?? How could I desire anything but to be led forward by Him. After all, He is all-powerful and He knows what is ahead, even though I most certainly do not. Who better to lead me through my life than the One who formed, molds, and sustains me? As reckless or non-sensical as living for something unseen may seem, it’s really the only thing that makes sense. We are not called to an easy life, but we are called to a full one. Remember Jesus’ promise: “In this world, you will have trouble. But take heart! I have over come the world!” So yes. Right on. He is worth it. Take heart! He works everything for His glory and for the good of those who love Him. šŸ™‚

    Like

Share a thought or two:

