Five-minute Friday: Look.

Go.

“Look, what I’m doing!” He squealed excitedly. “Have you ever seen something so wonderful?” He couldn’t contain his joy as he looked at the new project he was working on. It wasn’t finished yet. In fact, it was just beginning. But the plans had been done for years now.

He looked over the blueprints that he had drawn up long before I was born, and he smiled. He told me again, “Look! Can you see how perfect it is! And this baby is all yours.” He said it as though he was fixing up a 1957 Camero for me, but it was more than that.

I looked at him and smiled too. “I see it, Lord,” I said.

I looked at the blueprint I had tried and failed to draw for myself and chuckled a little to myself. He’d had his plans drawn before I was born, yet it wasn’t until now that I decided to ask for them. I thought I would try to design something myself. Turns out, I’m not an architect.

“You’ll love what I’m going to do next,” he said.

I looked at him and smiled again. I knew I would love it. I always did.

Done.

Isaiah 43:18-20

“Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.
The wild animals honor me,
the jackals and the owls,
because I provide water in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland,
to give drink to my people, my chosen…”

One thought on “Five-minute Friday: Look.

Share a thought or two:

