Closing chapters.

When I had hardly been 15 for two months I got a job working at my city’s recreation center. It was my first job. I started out teaching swimming lessons. Then life-guarding. Over the past few years I’ve moved up a bit: training teachers, coaching swim team, supervising swimming lessons, making espresso drinks at the coffee stand, working as a receptionist.

Six and a half years later I put in my two weeks notice.

Sometimes you get to a point when it’s better to end it than keep it going. It’s easier to save the goodness that way. It’s easier to not leave only remembering the bad.

I’m still working as a receptionist. Maybe I’m just moving departments, but it’s a big step. A huge change. If you work at the pool longer than 2 years, it’s hard to say when you’ll ever quit. It’s comfortable, good pay, a fun environment. But it was time.

The hardest part for me will be the slow fade of good relationships. I love my coworkers. I love the kiddos I work with. I love the families and regulars that come into the pool. That’s the hardest thing about goodbyes — the missing and the getting out of touch with people who have meant so much to you.

But there is a time for everything. There is a time to stay and a time to go. (Except I’m not completely leaving yet.)

I love you all, dearest coworkers! Come visit me at the desk and I’ll make you some coffee.

Share a thought or two:

