Confessions of a Wanna-Be-Tica.

I’ve eaten huevos (eggs), cafe con leche (half coffee, half milk), and tortillas or gallo pinto (rice and beans) almost every day for the past eight weeks that I’ve been home from Costa Rica. I’m still not tired of it.

I’m getting really good at making platanos fritos (fried plantains). They taste almost as good as Rosaura’s.

Everything is tan lindoooooo in my world. (That means “so cute” in Spanish.)

I put salt on mangoes.

I go to a Mexican/Latin American market at least once a week, more if I can.

I order anything in Spanish whenever I can. Especially when I’m at a taquieria.

Really, I speak Spanish every chance I get. With my family, with coworkers, the kids I work with, the parents of the kids I work with, and with friends who don’t speak Spanish.

90% of the music I listen to is in Spanish.

Phrases like que chiva, mae and estoy volando have become normal in my vocabulary.

I’m a U.S. citizen and I live in Seattle, but I am more informed about Costa Rican news than U.S. news. Thank you, Tico Times.

I bought my ticket back to Costa Rica last night. *cue giddy squealing and uncontrollable smiling* I’m going home to my tico family! On December 7th I will get to give them the biggest hugs and kisses and smiles anyone has ever seen. That’s 115 days folks! (not that I’m counting. 😉 )

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Wanna-Be-Tica.

  1. Love this post and I absolutely love this song… reminds me of UG and my excitement to be home again!!!! 3 weeks and two days till I am back in the arms of my precious UG friends and family!

    Like

Share a thought or two:

