My wild heart.

There’s something perfect about sitting by a fire while the wind rustles leaves and the world quiets down. The sun’s absence reminds me that stars still sparkle with a fire much mightier than the one before me which crackles with summer delight. The freeway rumbles from a few miles away and if you wait for it, in the stillness of the blackest time of night, the train’s whistle faints near the ocean. Laughter echoes in the twilight; smiles glow in the firelight.

This moment is beautiful and nearly perfect, but as I close my eyes and dream, my thoughts wander to a place under different stars. To arms that make me feel safe; eyes that show me how much I am worth; and a smile that reflects my own, laughs with me and reminds my heart of every beautiful thing that surrounds it.

Embers escape from dying logs and I dream of escaping from here. I wonder if someday I’ll float away along with the wind, and be carried back to those arms. I wonder where God will take this heart of mine. I have wishes and dreams; I keep hoping and praying. Like the heart of the flame, my heart is wild with dreams and passion. And I pray, Lord, where will you take this wild heart of mine? Where will this passion thrive? Where will these dreams be given life? Where do you want me, oh Lord of my wild, wild heart?

The smoke dances with the wind while the fire flickers and dies as the night carries on, but the dreams in my heart still burn with the strength of a wild fire. Lord, let my wild heart seek you with all the strength she has. And in seeking you, I pray you carry my heart like embers in the wind, lost in freedom and the beauty of dreams that never end.

One thought on “My wild heart.

Share a thought or two:

