I’ve lost me.

I’m escaping to the library between classes this morning. Really, I should be in Stats class, but today I just can’t. And Monday I couldn’t either. The last 5 weeks of being in school and working too many hours have been some of the hardest 5 weeks of my life. I escape to the basement in the library where I can write because this is where my heart feels at home; feels safe; feels the tiniest bit of rest in the chaos that I can’t control or scare away.

Last week I failed the first test I have ever failed in college. I have done about 7 homework assignments in 5 weeks between 4 classes. I should probably definitely care, but I just don’t.

I should care because I’m paying (with my mother’s help) too many thousands of dollars a year for college. I should care because my future depends on it. I should care because I’m only a year away from graduating. I should care for a lot of reasons, but I don’t because I can’t. I can’t find the energy or the joy or the motivation to do anything, even those things that I enjoy.

I’ve lost my joy. I’ve lost my smiles. I’ve lost me.

So I’m sorry I can’t…

Satisfy your expectations of what I should do, who I should be, or how I should feel.

Encourage you the way I wish I could.

Be excited for you with all the joy and enthusiasm I used to have.

Listen to your frustrations and help you carry your burdens.

Keep up with every obligation — significant or insignificant.

Remember to take you out to coffee and ask you about your life.

Be the friend you need me to be.

Sometimes I hide it well behind this smile that I used to wear so well, and sometimes I don’t care to hide it at all. I’m sorry for the inconsistency and I’m sorry if I’m not making sense. I rarely understand it either. Please be patient with me and keep on praying for me. This won’t last forever, but right now life is pretty tough.

One thought on “I’ve lost me.

Share a thought or two:

