Five-minute Friday: On waiting.

Go.

I watch the stars hover over my quiet city as I walk home from work. The clouds move quickly and I see the moon. I listen to the silence, breath in, and smile with the stars while I wait for you.

And I keep walking.

Home. I leave my things in my room; wash my face; brush my teeth; check facebook; read blogs; turn out the lights; crawl under the covers; think; dream; wish; wait.

And I keep waiting.

I lie in bed and stare at the black ceiling. I hear rain outside, but it is muted by this faint song — this quiet lullaby I fall asleep to while I wait for you.

Always this song, this song with notes, but no words. | your heart. | It’s the song you’re writing that accompanies the song in my heart. And I listen to this distant song while I wait.

And I keep listening.

It’s beautiful. Someday we will be a beautiful melody. Your rhythm; my rhythm; one song. But for now you’re writing your song, and I’m working on my song. For now there is waiting.

And I’ll keep waiting for you.

Done.

(Prompted by Lisa-Jo at The Gypsy Mama.)

7 thoughts on “Five-minute Friday: On waiting.

  1. *sigh … You have a way with words. There is no doubt about that. I am so proud to call you my sister.

    “Always this song, this song with notes, but no words. | your heart. | It’s the song you’re writing that accompanies the song in my heart. And I listen to this distant song while I wait.”

    I totally get that. Someday, we’ll have that, and it will be glorious.

    Like

  2. Absolutely beautiful words.

    “It’s beautiful. Someday we will be a beautiful melody. Your rhythm; my rhythm; one song. But for now you’re writing your song, and I’m working on my song. For now there is waiting.

    And I’ll keep waiting for you.”

    And so we wait…

    Thanks for this!

    Like

Share a thought or two:

