21 joys.

My life has been anything but easy lately as I deal with brokenness in my family and the unknowns of my best friend living in Sendai, Japan during the earthquake/tsunami disasters. But today is my 21st birthday. Today I want to focus on good things, God things, wonderful, happy, joyful things. Because even in the midst of my really hard things, I know there is good and beauty and life. Today, of all days, I want to see it.

21 reasons to be joyful:

1. God is with me, no matter how much my world shakes. He is my solid Rock.
2. Surprises from friends.
3. Skype.
4. I spent the day shopping in Seattle with my mom on Friday to celebrate our birthdays. My mom loves me a lot and that is always obvious.
5. Barry’s Irish tea on a rainy day.
6. I get to drive to school a couple days this week instead of taking the bus.
7. I have friends who support me and speak life into my difficult days.
8. I am becoming better at learning/speaking/understanding Spanish.
9. I received 2 letters in the mail that had nothing to do with my birthday and everything to do with friendship.
10. I am able to be educated at a spectacular university.
11. I have a stable job.
12. I live in a safe home.
13. I will be taking a piano class next quarter.
14. I know that spring is coming because the birds sing in the morning.
15. I colored my hair yesterday, and I love the color.
16. Mallory, my friend in Japan, is alive and surviving, even though life is really hard.
17. There is one more week until spring break.
18. I was recently promoted at work and have been given the responsibility of being a supervisor during swimming lessons.
19. I got new running shoes this week.
20. I will be getting my braces off on April 19th. The appointment is scheduled and will not be canceled.
21. I finally bought my ticket for Costa Rica and will be meeting some great friends for the first time on June 9th.

Where have you found joy lately?

One thought on “21 joys.

Share a thought or two:

