My Lifeguard.

Today I was reminded of this promise God made to Israel:

But now, this is what the LORD says— he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel:

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.” [Isaiah 43:1-3a]

I feel the waters rising. I think they are about to overtake me while I struggle to keep my head above the water. My eyes widen as I realize I cannot reach the edge and I begin to sink. I try to cry for help; my lungs fill with water. I frantically flap my arms, bobbing in the midst of waves which crash into my water-filled lungs. Just when I feel faint and tired from the struggle, I am jolted up out of the water. The strong arms are under mine hold me safe; my back rests on a rescue tube. He checks for a pulse. It is barely there.

It’s ok. I am here to help you. You are safe now,” says a deep voice. My eyes meet his with a distant gaze and I realize who has rescued me. I understand the One who holds me in his strong arms will keep me safe. It is there that I let my tired body go limp. I rest in his strong arms and let him carry me to shallow water. I have faith that he will not let me drown. He is the lifeguard’s Lifeguard, and he has rescued me.

Share a thought or two:

