Song for Sunday: In My Love

Life is hard and I’ve been feeling it lately. I feel the weight and tiredness of these growing burdens as I frantically search for a place of rest. I wonder if there will ever be a place where my heart can feel safe and calm.

I went running on Friday, as I often do when there is a lot on my mind, and I came to one of my favorite spots to reflect and think and pray, sitting on a rock on the edge of a creek. I told God I was tired. I’m tired of hypocrisy, tired of confusion, tired of waiting, tired of being tired.

I sat on that rock and pulled my knees into my chest, held my arms tightly around them, and rested my chin on my knees. I closed my eyes and breathed in, and out, and in, and out.

And I heard this love song to my heart, “You’re my child and I’m your God. Come and rest in my love.

__________________

In My Love | Phil Wickham

I have looked you in the eyes; I have seen the tears you cried; I have heard you question why you are here. There is a reason, there’s a plan. There is a God who understands. He’s got your life inside His hands, have no fear.

Cause He says…

In all your hurt, in all your pain. I’ll never leave, I won’t forsake. You’re my child and I’m your God. Come and rest in my love.

I know this road is steep and I know you’re tired and weak, but the God of perfect peace is right here. He is the shelter from the storm; He is the rock, firm and secure. He is hope forever more; have no fear.

Cause He says…

In all your hurt, in all your pain. I’ll never leave, I won’t forsake. You’re my child and I’m your God. Come and rest in my love.

When everything seems out of control, I’m holding on. I won’t let go. You’re my child and I’m your God. Come and rest in my love.

There is hope tonight; there is everlasting life. Wipe away your tears cause the morning sun will rise. Love will never fail. He will never fail.

2 thoughts on “Song for Sunday: In My Love

Share a thought or two:

