Consider it joy.

Having Christ come into my life will not grant me the absence of hardship. My mind has repeated this over and over. I know it to be true, but my heart doesn’t always accept it. Usually, in the midst of my trials, I begin to question God’s goodness. Would a good God allow this to happen? Would a good God let me face these trials? But I have it all backwards.

Jesus tells me it is the opposite. He told me this life would be hard when I chose him, yet I pray for safety, comfort, and peace, for life to be easy and for the trials to be taken away. I can’t help but ask, what about that is biblical?

James 1:2-4 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

There is nothing about perseverance that equates to “take this away from me now.” God told us we would pick up a cross, so why, when we are carrying the cross he promised, do we pray for him to take it back? Why do we tell God we want an easier life?

God doesn’t promise an easy life. He doesn’t tell us that he will make hard things easier. What he does promise is Himself in the midst of hard things. He promises supernatural comfort because of Him, and supernatural joy because of Him, despite our circumstances. This comfort and joy do not take away hard things in our lives, but they give us the means to fight the seemingly never ending, daily, uphill battle.

I pray that I begin to see God in the midst of my battles, instead of asking for a way out.

One thought on “Consider it joy.

  1. Thank you Hannah for this beautiful reminder of the sufficiency of Christ!
    “Be still my soul, thy Jesus can repay, from His own fullness all He takes away.”

    Like

Share a thought or two:

