These are a few of my favorite things.

I love the burst of warm air as I come home after being out all day. My cheeks flush rosy red and my skin is left tingling as the warmth chases the cold from my fingers and nose.

I love staying up late and finding the house completely silent, except the quiet glow of Christmas lights in the window and on the tree.

I love red and green, two seemingly clashing colors that match during the month of December because we say they do.

I love decorating our house with these vibrant colors and watching the grey, dull winter become beautiful, splashed with color and life.

I love setting up my grandmother’s nativity and wondering how many Christmases it has seen.

I love anticipation — a month of shopping and hiding and keeping secrets, all building up to one day of surprises.

I love the post office, and sending packages and letters, and anticipating the joy they will bring. I love sending a piece of my world to a part of someone else’s.

I love that the whole world (or at least my corner of it in the US) changes its pace and its tune for an entire month because of one special day. Christmas music plays in every store, trees and lights and fake snow fill every store window. Everyone quickens their shopping pace and slows their heart pace, stopping to share special moments with friends and family.

I love our Christmas traditions.

I love the serenading Christmas tunes of Bing Crosby and Nat King Cole.

I love pie and special Christmas-ey Starbucks drinks and how they bring people together to share life.

I love that getting older gives me a deeper understanding of who Christ is and how his love is so great.

I love everything there is to love about Christmas. This is most definitely my favorite season of the year.

What do you love about Christmas?

Share a thought or two:

