Thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving, friends!

Today is the day Americans remember what they are thankful for (24 hours before Black Friday when they will spend their entire paycheck on Christmas presents.) Earlier this week Tam asked a not-so-typical question about Thanksgiving:

“What are you thankful for that you never thought you’d be thankful for?”

Here’s what I’m thankful for…

Being alone.

It is incredibly difficult to be alone, especially during the holiday season when I feel like I am the only one not dating someone, but it is good. It is good for me to grow in my relationship with God alone because one day I will have a “someone,” and I won’t have this luxury of being responsible for only myself. This season of my life is a different kind of treasure in my relationship with God.

And distance.

I’m thankful for the past few (6+) months when I have been away from many of my closest friends. If I let them, these friends could easily affirm who I am and satisfy my desire to be known and loved and seen. It has been agonizing to be alone, thousands of miles away from such dear friends, but distance has also brought me closer to God. It begs for dependence, trust, and my need for God in a way that I could not have known without living through this season of my life.

Among those things that aren’t typical to be thankful for, I am also thankful for: the snow this week, God’s abundant provision for my family, my best friend, Rachel, coming home from China on Saturday, the blessing of friends of the heart, no matter if they live three, 300, or 3,000 miles away.

What about you? What are you thankful for that you never thought you’d be thankful for?

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving.

  1. Tonight as I was checking all the blogs that I read I was praying for one to talk about loneliness. Thank you for your words. I needed them so much. God continually uses you to bless me and remind me of His love for His children.

    Like

  2. I will give thanks to the LORD because of his righteousness; I will sing the praises of the name of the LORD Most High | Psalm 7.17

    What a good day thanksgiving has to be! I believe God loves all those hearts filled with gratitude 🙂

    Like

Share a thought or two:

