Worth it all.

I watched this video today and it rocked my world.

I encourage you to watch it. I know it’s long, but it’s important. Maybe the most important thing you’ll hear all week, all month.

Lukewarm and Loving It — Francis Chan

I know that about 98% of you just skipped over the video and didn’t actually watch it, so I’ll sum it up: Francis talks about the danger of being lukewarm. God describes lukewarm people as being pitiful, wretched, blind, and naked, and Francis questions whether or not they are really saved. He challenges that these are  not traits that God uses to describe believers and jokes that the Bible never says, “I once was blind, but now I am blind!” Would God say of his children that he wants to “spit them out of his mouth” ? Francis goes on to say it is easy for rich people to be lukewarm. They think they only need a little of God because they don’t need to rely on God to provide food, money, a home, a stable job. They need just enough of God to maintain good morals.

Francis reminds us that it is so difficult for the rich to enter the kingdom of heaven. I’ve always thought of rich people as relative to my social status. The rich are people like Bill Gates and Paris Hilton. In reality, I am the rich person whom Jesus warns about the difficulty in knowing him and entering the Kingdom of Heaven. I am wealthier than most of the world. Most of the world lives on $2 a day. I can make 4 times that much in an hour at a minimum wage job. I am rich. Just by living in America, you are rich. It doesn’t matter if you can’t afford college, or can’t afford to buy a house, or can’t afford to eat organic. You live in America and therefore you are rich.

And now I’m sitting on my bed, looking around my room at all of my stuff. I have too much. God, I just did this. Remember? What more can I give up? I’ll be left with nothing, I tell him.

I’m feeling a lot like Gideon. God kept telling Gideon that his army was too big to defeat the Midianites. Not too small, too big. God wanted it to be obvious that Israel did not save itself, but that it was God who saved Israel. So the Lord told Gideon to send men home. He started with an army of 32,000 and ended with a mere 300 men going into battle. And God used those 300 Israelites to conquer Midian.

I cry out, “Lord, how long will you keep on taking? What will I have left?” You will have Me, he says. Oh Lord, how I wish my heart knew that were enough! I want God to reach his Almighty hands down to earth and shake me. Wake me up, God! I want to be aware of the greatness of God. I want him to be the only One that matters. But the reality is, there is so much else that distracts me.

I want to be sure, without a doubt, in my heart and in my mind, that the treasure of God is so great that it is worth giving up anything — my best friends, my family, my future husband (or my dream of having a husband), my social life, my Macbook, my retirement fund & my retirement plans, my SPU, my dream of being a writer. It is all worth it for God. There are no excuses. This is GOD. He is the Creator of the UNIVERSE! He is the SAVIOR of the Universe! He is worth it all, a thousand times over.

God, I want to want nothing more than I want You. Oh Lord, let my heart be so sure of You that I will stop at nothing to have more of You!


3 thoughts on “Worth it all.

  1. As I was reading this, I start thinking how your heart has been in a process with God and how He is working in your life; and I can’t think of you not ending being a faithful servant of God who gives him glory with your heart.

    Like

Share a thought or two:

