Be still.

My heart has had a lot of questions recently. Silly questions, mostly.

Questions like:

Who is my future husband?
When will I meet him?
When do I get to move out and have my own life?
What am I supposed to do with my life?
What am I supposed to say to someone who hurt me?
Do I really have to learn patience right now?
Why are my friends all over the world when I need them here?
Why does my heart always want something?

And God gives me the same answer, every time.

Be still.

What? Not what I wanted to hear, but exactly what I needed.

It’s not for me to know everything. And it’s not always my place to do anything either. I like doing. I like having something tangible. Sitting, waiting, wishing — it drives me crazy. I need to know. I need to do.

When I want to scream my frustration, or spill my heart, or jump on a plane, or pack up all my bags, He just sits there, smiling, and probably chuckling, and says, “Just be still.”

How does your heart need to be still?

3 thoughts on “Be still.

  1. An awesome thing to learn: patience.

    Rom 5:3 And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience;
    Rom 5:4 And patience, experience; and experience, hope:
    Rom 5:5 And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

    Like

  2. i like your silly questions. i have a lot of them myself.
    sometimes i need to remind myself that in walking it out, god tells me what i need to know when i need to know it because oftentimes i wonder if i would even choose this hard, narrow path if i knew what was coming before it came.
    and i keep finding that He wants me to keep on giving my questions over to Him, laying them on the altar, trusting Him, and not looking back.

    Like

  3. I know it’s hard. The urge to have your own life at your age is sooooooooooooo strong! It will happen. Try to find ways to bless God and learn where you are and then you will enjoy it so much more when you finally get it and won’t look back and think why did I waste my time?

    Like

Share a thought or two:

