He knows your name.

I have an affinity for names.

I name every expensive thing I own. I’m not sure why I started doing it, but I like to think it makes things more personal. It makes them more mine.

My first car was named Elijah, but everyone called him Eli. Yes, everyone. All my friends knew Eli, and they called him by name. I named my red ipod Iago after the bird in Aladdin. My bicycle became Henry when I realized I could go on a stroll through the park with Henry. My guitar is Jude. He is a sad soul, with a deep, yet caring voice. And my macbook? Mackenzie.

We’ve been through a lot together.

Eli has been with me through friendships that have come and gone. He was with me through times of tow trucks and mechanics, and times of loud out-of-tune singing and car dance parties. Henry and I ride to work together every day. He is my companion. Mackenzie and I have gone through a scary time apart and a beautiful reunion after he was stolen and found.

Everything has a name, and I know them by these names. When I think about their names, I am reminded of fond memories, and why they are special to me. I think about their names and the “bond” I share with these inanimate objects because of time and life together.

It shouldn’t surprise you then that my heart flutters when I read, “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine.” (Isaiah 43:1)

God called Israel to be his people. But I believe the same is true for me. God calls me by name. He knows my name, and I am his.

He has called me for a purpose — he calls me to himself. He calls me to be his daughter, his beloved, his beautiful bride, his creation, in his image.

God is calling you by name. You are loved beyond what our finite words can describe — unconditionally and forever. You have never been insignificant. He has always known your name. And he has always been calling your name. You are his.

4 thoughts on “He knows your name.

  1. OMG!!! i really like your blog friend. It reminds me of our youth a few years back. I remember we were rolling in traffic with Eli ad we had your radio on FULL BLAST to Backstreet boys and everyone, i mean EVERYONE was looking at us. I miss those times. And I name everything that is expensive and important to me too. (example my ipod is named Yuki) For reason you know why. haha love you friend!

    Like

  2. God knows our heart so well! He calls us by our name cause he’s so big that he can put attention to every being he created WOW.

    I know someday this things will be on a book, a beautiful one.

    Like

  3. you make me want to go name everything!!! i seriously love that passage in isaiah and i also love in isaiah 62:4 where it says “hephzibah”/”my delight is in her” πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Michelle: Yes, we have some great memories together!

    Josue: WOW is right. Our God is so great and so mighty! His love for us is unfathomable. And thank you very much.. if I ever finish my book, I’ll be sure to send you a copy of that one too. πŸ™‚

    Katy: “My delight is in her.” How beautiful, and what a wonderful God that he would delight in his people!

    Like

Share a thought or two:

