Seattle Sounders.

I’ve grown up going to soccer games. Both my brothers played when they were younger, so I’ve been to a lot. Soccer is the one sport that I actually fully understand and can enjoy watching.

Last year was the inaugural year for the Seattle Sounders FC team. The Sounders have been around for a while, but not like this. Since they entered the Futbol Club, Seattle has adored them and supported them more than any of our other sports teams. Lime green jerseys and scarves are all over Seattle. The crowd roars with every attempt, every goal, every good play, and every bad call. And the crowd chants: “Take them all, watch them fall, put ’em up against the wall and shoot ’em,” and other more wholesome things like yelling, “Seattle Sounders.” I love the game atmosphere.

Last night I had the opportunity to go to my third game this season with 3 of my great friends from SPU — Rachel, Jason, and Jonathan. It was a good game, but most intense in the last 5 minutes. Sounders had the ball at the goal for most of the game, except when they let DC United get 3 goals throughout the game. It seemed like the Sounders made an attempt every 3 minutes, but they didn’t score until around minute 88 and then again a couple minutes after that during the stop time. We lost 2-3, but it was an intense game, and well worth it.

Going to soccer games is one of my favorite things to do, and it was so much fun to be with my friends, ushering in summer as we ended our school year together.

(Jonathan, Hannah, Rachel, Jason)

Share a thought or two:

