On taking risks.

I have a hard time with non-risk-takers.

I’m not always the best risk-taker, and I know this sounds condescending, so let me tell you what I’m not talking about.

I’m not talking about people who are introverts and who take small risks, or quieter risks, that may not seem risky to me. We all have a different risk-factor. I’m also not talking about people who know they have troubling risking and so they try to take more leaps of faith. I struggle with doing this too, and it is definitely a growing experience. I’m not even talking about people who know they have trouble risk-taking and aren’t currently doing anything about it. Sometimes it’s a struggle to even notice the problem, and it takes a lot of God working in our lives to come face to face with something we need to deal with.

I’m talking about the people who will tell you that if something feels uncomfortable, it must not be from God.

That is a very false statement. And I believe that it is detrimental to growing in faith.

Feeling fear does not mean that you are doing something wrong. You cannot say, “I am afraid so it must not be God’s will.” Feeling good and going in God’s will do not always walk side-by-side. I’m sure Abraham was afraid, nervous, and apprehensive when God told him to take himself, his family and servants (probably numbering at least a 100), and all of his animals and go somewhere. Especially because somewhere was still unknown to Abraham when God told him to go. He just had to go.

Yes, you should use discernment when trying to figure out God’s will. Sometimes the uneasiness does mean that you are not supposed to head in that direction. And sometimes it seems like a never-ending battle upstream while trying to understand. But I want to encourage you to not write something off because you feel uneasy about it. If you’re prone to backing out of big things because of feeling apprehensive or uncomfortable, I want you to take another look at the situation. Continue to seek God. There might be something else that is holding you back.

Maybe it’s time to take a leap of faith. Maybe you’ll be terrified. And just maybe, it will let you fall deeper in love with your Redeemer.

One thought on “On taking risks.

Share a thought or two:

