Books in review.

I don’t have much to say today.

Recently I’ve seen a lot of God, and found a lot of peace from Him. I’ve just been kind of walking with Him, nothing big, just walking, which is good. Sometimes I try to run ahead of Him, and then I figure out that I’m lost because He was supposed to be leading me. It’s nice to take a stroll, just to remember how to heel (I just compared myself to a dog…) before running in the race again.

I’ve read a few good books lately too. If you ever have time and need something to pick up, try one of these:

Dating Delilah, by Pastor Judah Smith A book about what the Bible says about relationships. It’s really good! Judah is very honest and open and straight to the point. It’s a quick read, but not so light.
Reckless Faith, by Beth Guckenberger If you’ve ever thought about adopting or opening/working in an orphanage, this book is for you. If you haven’t, well, this book is still for you. Beth shares wonderful stories about faith and orphans. If you liked Crazy Love by Francis Chan, you’d also like this one.
Through Painted Deserts, by Donald Miller I’ve read every other Miller book, and I love them all. I’m only just starting this one, but I love it too. This book is everything insightful that I love about Don with a story about a hippie road trip to guide his witty tangents. If you’re a hippie, or not a hippie, you’ll love this.
Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, by Ann Brashares I haven’t read the 4th book yet, as I have a long list of books already, but the first 3 are wonderful. If you want some fun fiction, with a little bit of cheesy-teenage romance, you’ll love it. Even my middle aged, gray-haired, manly English teacher loved these.
Affluenza: The All-Consuming Epidemic, by a few different people If you like non-fiction, this is a good one. It’s loaded with jaw-dropping facts about the problem of America’s consumption. I haven’t finished it yet, but I’m still working on it. It really makes you think. I’ve gone shopping a few times since and been able to stop myself and ask, “What am I doing here?”
Crazy Love, by Francis Chan I know I’ve talked about this book before, but if you still haven’t read it, get on it! This is by far one of my favorite books (FIC & NONFIC). Francis Chan writes about what it means to be a Christian, to lose your life in order to gain it, and to have a passionately crazy love for God.
Sam’s Letters to Jennifer, by James Pattinson It’s a bit predictable if you’ve ever read a romance novel, but it’s sweet anyway. It was also a very quick read, but left me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. It’s a good fluff book.

Share a thought or two:

