Dear friend.

Dear Friend,

People are broken. I look around at relationship after relationship and they’re all so broken. Because people are broken. And I wonder if God has bigger plans.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Sometimes the end seems like the finale, but it’s not really the end or the finale. Every other situation seems happy and right, but it is fleeting, ending in brokenness and heartache. Happiness ends. Joy is eternal.

Am I making any sense?

God has His own plans and we have to walk in them, most often blindly, trusting that our sadness or waiting is only temporary because we don’t know what He is leading us into. Today I am thanking God for silence, for not telling me where He has been taking me. It has been hard to come to this point, but I am joyful that He brought me to this spot. If I had not gone through a little hurt, I would not understand now how much He was protecting me and blessing me. The Lord honors those who love Him and walk in His righteousness. Sometimes it’s hard to keep walking, but if we know that He is still there, if we keep on trusting that His way is perfect, He blesses us in extraordinary ways.

Today I am thankful that God knows more than I do. I am thankful that He cares enough to allow a little bit of hurt to save me from a world of brokenness. I am thankful for wisdom, discernment, and faith. I am thankful for people who love God, and for people who surrender to the God that knows more than they do. Today I am thankful.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

Faith is walking forward, though we cannot see the end, trusting that God knows what He’s doing and that it is better than all we could ever ask or imagine. Faith is knowing that God will not lead us into something harmful. Faith is trusting that God has amazing plans for us. Faith is believing that when we walk with God we will experience extraordinary because that is what God has planned for us.

Today I understand more than I understood yesterday. Today I am thankful.

Love always,

Hannah Ruth

Share a thought or two:

