Complement each other like colors.

I’ve been thinking out loud with my friend Mallory, and here’s what is finally settling in my heart. I’ve heard these things before, but it’s finally making sense.

In Dating Delilah, Pastor Judah says, “Guys, has the woman you are considering marrying put her life on hold in search of a man who can bring her definition and direction? I didn’t marry that kind of woman. I knew that Chelsea was going to change the world whether I married her or not and I wanted to join her team. You have to understand that you individually have a purpose outside of a relationship with another person. God has a plan just for you!”

…Isn’t that sweet?

I finally get it! My plan for my future can’t be, “I want to get married and be a missionary.” Yes, I would love for that to happen, but I need to be seeking what God wants me to do, and not let my future be dependent on getting married. Maybe God wants me to be single for the rest of my life. Yikes. That’s a terrifying thought! But my point is, I need to be ok with that if it’s God’s plan.

I want someone to come in and complete me so that we can go do amazing things for God’s kingdom together, but I think God wants me to be ok with just bringing glory to Him by myself. I need to be complete with just me and God, then maybe I can fall in love. I need to be ok with whatever God is leading me into without being dependent on having someone else there. If God is calling me to teach overseas as a missionary, I need to be able to do that without a husband in the plan.

I need to be complete with just God, with or without a man. If I find completion in God, then I will be able to let the the relationship I have with my husband complement my relationship with God. My life will still only be complete with God and not more complete with the man.

I’m letting out a huge sigh of relief. It just makes sense. Now, if only I could begin to let God complete me instead of trying everything on my own. One step at a time, right?

5 thoughts on “Complement each other like colors.

  1. That’s beatiful.I want to marry some day so I can settle down and just enjoy what little I have. You want to be a missionary, that’s wonderful. This world needs a little more dose of love and compassion. So have faith knowing that God will only want what is best for you to live your life to it’s fullest. Isn’t that what it means to truly put yourself in god’s hand? You don’t have to look for that someone, you’ll know it. Trust me on that. Every person you meet, you meet for a reason. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other, and you’ll always end up somewhere new.

    Like

  2. By the way, You should listen to the song Nobody knows me at all by The Weepies, it’s my favorite song. You might not like it, but you’ll never ever ever know if you don’t check. I say that so it’ll keep bugging you until you check lol.

    Like

  3. Jpas– thank you for being so encouraging. You might not even know how encouraging it was to hear, “You don’t have to look for that someone, you’ll know it. Trust me on that. Every person you meet, you meet for a reason. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other, and you’ll always end up somewhere new.” so, thanks.

    Oh and I did listen to that song. I had to listen right away. It would have kept bugging me. And I really like it.

    Like

  4. Hannah…. You are wonderful and I am so thankful that we are friends. I think that we still need to move to another country and teach english… with or without husbands! I love you lady!

    Like

Share a thought or two:

