Genesis.

I pulled out my dusty Bible today and decided to start from the beginning and just read.

I could not believe how intriguing Genesis is!

Something so nice, He created it twice.

In Genesis 1:3 God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. God saw that the light was good and he separated the light from the darkness.

In Genesis 1:14 God said, “Let there be lights in the expanse of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as signs to mark seasons and days and years, and let them be lights in the expanse of the sky to give light on the earth.” He made two great lights –the greater to govern the day and the lesser to govern the night. The sun and the moon.

The first time he created light, there was no sun. It was just light. There was light and darkness. How curious. If there was no sun, what was the first light he created? I am no philosopher but it would make sense that he would create the light spectrum, ROYGBIV, the colors that make white light, before he made the sun which produced light. Isn’t that so cool? That, to me, in the first 16 verses of the Bible, proves that God is very real. If someone just made up the book, there is no way that they would have such vast knowledge as the light spectrum so long ago. God is cool.

Seek first His kingdom, and the rest will fall into place.

Genesis 2:18-23 talks about God creating a helper for Adam. Adam was naming all of the animals, the task that God had given him, but there was no suitable helper found for Adam. So, God created Eve. I find it comforting that Adam was just following what God had said, and God brought the helper to him.

Sounds of heaven.

Genesis 3:8 says, “Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day…”

I have never noticed that they heard God walking. Isn’t that cool? I think that would have truly been perfection. Walking with God, being able to hear his footsteps. What a beautiful picture!

A name for a wife.

Adam named Eve just like he gave a name to all the animals. (Gen. 3:20)

Clothed in skin.

“The Lord God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife and clothed them.” Genesis 3:21
So, question…did they not have skin on their bodies before this? or were they clothed in animal skin? They could not have previously been merely spirits before this because God took a rib from Adam to make Eve…so what exactly were they?

Tuck Everlasting.

If it weren’t for the cherubim guarding the Garden with a flaming sword that swishes back and forth, this movie would be very realistic. Genesis 3:22-23 describes a tree of life. Anyone who eats of it will live forever. God did not want man to live forever and have the knowledge of good and evil. That is why he banished man from the Garden so that he could never again enter it and have the chance to eat from the tree.

Challenge.

I challenge you to read the Bible and take everything very literally. The Bible is a history book, not a story book. I have grown up hearing “stories” in the Bible that seem very magical. They’re very real. Take up your Bible and read it as though you have never read it before. Read it like it is true, because it is, and take notes! If something sounds funny or interesting, weird or completely new, write about it. The Bible is a lot more interesting than rules and regulations. I challenge you to read it that way.

6 thoughts on “Genesis.

  1. please read the book by
    zecharia sitchin named The wars of Gods and man, find out the original ancient text and not what controlled religion has made you to believe, talking about Genesis please note it says lets make man in our image and that after they ate of the fruit it says they have knowlege of the gods. I was once a religious person and found the truth and now I am very spiritual but find religion has been a form of brain washing and the number one cause of wars, In Isaiah god says you will need no man to teach you because he will put his laws in your head and heart. Please search for the truth and good luck

    Like

  2. Dear Lorna,

    I will try to speak from my heart, however, I am afraid that you won’t hear these words, you will only read over them and come to conclusions based on the things that have influenced your life. I did not talk of any religion in this blog, only of my thoughts on Genesis, and yet you come to conclusions of religiousness(is that a word?) and brain washing. If you are hurting or have been hurt, if you have been let down or broken. I am sorry. Please, let your heart be opened. Let your ears hear. God desires you, and I want to share this with you…

    “please read the book by zecharia sitchin named The wars of Gods and man,”

    I haven’t read this, but isn’t it just a man’s opinion compared to the truth of the Bible? A biased opinion on how religion has affected him? The Bible is straight up truth. The words of man can falter and crumble, but God is firm and truth.

    “lets make man in our image…”

    Our meaning the trinity. There are three parts (Father, Spirit, Son), but one God.

    “religion has been a form of brain washing and the number one cause of wars…”

    Religion yes, God no. I agree with you that men change things to make what they believe seem right. But God is not like that. God did not cause the “Holy Wars,” He was not leader of the Crusades. He is the God of love.

    “you will need no man to teach you because he will put his laws in your head and heart.”

    I completely agree. The Bible is God’s Word. Everything that I wrote in this blog was from the Bible, and then my thoughts on what I read. There was nothing from any religion. As for Isaiah’s words, be careful not to take scripture out of context. That was before Christ, and although I do agree that God will give us all the knowledge we need, He has given us leaders and teachers for a purpose, so that we can learn from each other.

    2 Thessalonians 2:15 says,”So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter.”

    1 Timothy 4:11 tells us that we should all participate in teaching! “Command and teach these things.”

    1 Timothy 4:13, “Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to preaching and to teaching.”

    In the New Testament, God set up the church for fellowship and encouragement and teaching. While religion sometimes gets off track, the church is still good, not perfect, good. God is with the church. God is good.

    “Please search for the truth and good luck”

    “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

    Lorna, I have found the truth in Jesus Christ. God has saved me and that is all that I need to satisfy my heart’s desires. He held onto me and in my struggle, I found Him. I was lost, but now I am found. I pray that your heart would be softened to the everlasting and unconditional love of God (Father, Spirit, and Jesus Christ). He’s waiting for you and He is so completely in love with you. I pray that you fall in love with your Creator and Savior.

    Sincerely in Him in love,

    Hannah Ruth

    Like

  3. Ruth no the book is not about how Zecharia feels. He is one of the few people in the world that is able to translate the original writings that the bible is based on. It is great you love Jesus but God gave you a brain to seek truth and knowledge. If you seek God he will give you an answer that is based on love not fear, the bible at least the King james version is based on fear God and none is great but god and because of Eve’s sin, that the rest of the world have to pay for it. Honey none of this is love and God is pure love. I hear you and when the day comes that you need your soul to grow to the next dimension you will find the truth as I have, I know the bible front to back, I have a whole family of preachers, but I had questions that weren’t being answered about the bible and God lead me to the truth. There is incest in the bible and I am sure you know Lots daughteres got him drunk and had sex with him to carry on the see, what would that be called today. Isaiah 43:11 says there is no God before him or after him and next sentened says there is no saviour beside God but yet you speak of Jesus. Then if you really read your bible you will see, Matthew, Mark and Luke and John all give different accounts of Jesus death, In Matthew when Mary Magdalene went to the tomb it says a great earthquake came and an angel removed the stone, but in Mark it has no mention of this what so ever. There was a 1611 edition bible that swept the planet for a very long time, my grandpa had one,but William Tyndale and some other scholars decided to revise it, leaving books out. Did you know the books Paul wrote such as Acts etc, he wrote 30 A.D and never even walked with Jesus as a disciple but many people live by his writings and put women to be servants to men. He was just a man that wrote a book, and the book of Hebrew no one even knows who wrote the book,the book of Job was a poetic play that was presented to the Romans and when I went to church was taught as literal, I thought how cruel God would take his wife and kids and every thing he owns, your taught he gets all new things back, but if a parent looses a spouse or children a different one does not replace them. I could go on all day. Not sure you would find the truth if it slapped you in the face. Evidently you haven’t read your bible someone else told you what to believe or you would have questions and see contradictions. So here is a challenge for you read your bible, find out who the author is in all the books and most important when they wrote them, go to the religious book store find the first translated English bible and compare it to the one you have at home, it was scholars that changed the bible, and Zecharia Stichin is a scholar that tells the truth of what the first translation was. Seek the truth and God will give it to you. With Love from my heart to yours hoping you can become awakened from your sleep. Jesus said until you can see with one eye the light will not come in, the one eye honey is your 3rd eye. God Luck to you

    Like

  4. That was a lot of words and very confusing. 3rd Eye?

    Basically, the only truth I need is that which I have already found. God has changed my life. You said that you hope that I find God’s love, but I have already told you that I have. I have found it and I have found Him. I know that God is with me, and no text is going to change that. I believe that the Bible is the true Word of God, but if it weren’t it wouldn’t change how I feel. There is more proof of what I believe than just in the Bible. I see it in the way my friends’ lives are transformed. I can see it in my life and in faith, when I trust Him completely.

    Like

  5. Ruth that is wonderful you believe in God. My point was in many churches the bible is used to put women as subservent beings to men and many other false teachings, that did not come from God, I do not believe the bible came from God. This is by means of studying the history of the book. But is you believe in God and become pure love as he planned for us, then the bible doesn’t matter does it? No further comments needed here.

    Like

  6. Hannah Ruth, I know this post was from a long time ago…but anyway, I’v been reading your old posts…just came across this one. And wanted to say…thanks for standing up for the truth, and I love the way you replied to her comments with love, and yet firmly with truth too. It was a worthy investment of the time, even though she didn’t seems to change – at least not right away – from reading it. It’s also very sad to realize that there are people who believe like her. 😦
    Keep speaking truth, girl!

    Like

Share a thought or two:

