Oh no, You never let go!

Today I found myself in the middle of a healthy, mature debate with my Mormon friend. The points he and I talked about really made me think hard about what the Bible says and what I believe.

We started out talking about how God works in our lives. I told him that I don’t need to go out of my way to seek anything/anyone except God. Example: a house, a job, missions opportunities, a guy. You get the point. He always says that you must have faith but also works. That God is not just going to provide all those things for me and that I need to be out looking for them. I can somewhat understand that but here was my response: When we are in God’s will and seeking Him above everything else, the everything else will all fall into place. The job that I’m supposed to have, the man I’m supposed to marry. Yes, when God puts those things into my life, I have to have faith that it is right and then act on it, but seeking God is all that I really need to do. God will lead me in a perfect plan when I just follow Him.

The last thing he said was this: We are like children and God is like our parent. When the child is young he relies on his parents for everything, but as he gets older he can go out on his own and doesn’t need the parents anymore. He said that we need to follow what God has for us for a little while but then He lets us go so we can do life on our own.

WOAH.

Then I had to go teach a class so we couldn’t finish. More to come tomorrow! …but it just got me thinking about this song:

Oh no, You never let go
Through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go
In every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go
Lord, You never let go of me

Thank goodness that He never does let go! It made me realize that I don’t even want to try to do life on my own. God’s way is so perfect and I would be a fool to think that I could do life any better. AND, figuring out how to do life on our own, it’s impossible, but more importantly, that’s not even the whole point of our existence. The whole point is love, not independence. God desires us. He wants to be with us. It’s all about the intimate, romantic, true relationship with Christ. I don’t want to live in a world where I am supposed to “grow out of God.” Thinking about all of this has made me realize how loving our God is that He would love someone as insignificant and small as me, a human. And yet He does. What a glorious God to serve! What a wonderful God to fall in love with!

Share a thought or two:

