What to pray.

While I was with Margie we got onto the topic of prayer. She said when her son is fighting in Iraq, she remembers to pray every day, but when he’s not out there fighting, she doesn’t always remember. Then there are a million other things that she never remembers to pray for. It was very relieving to realize that we aren’t expected to pray for every little thing.

What I mean by that is this: There is a lot going on in the world, a lot of missionaries, a lot of hurting people. We can pray generalities, but I think God puts specific people in our lives to pray for. What a burden if we were expected to remember everything! We are human and we will fail. But God puts certain things into our lives that we will remember to pray for because those are the things that our hearts ache for. I could pray for all of Intabazwe, and I should, God has put that village on my heart, but I don’t know everyone in the village. I don’t remember everyone that I met in Intabazwe and I don’t remember all of their needs, but I’m sure there are others who do. Three months later, I do remember Lucky the Sangoma because God has put a passion in my heart for him.

Share a thought or two:

