This Is Home | Switchfoot

I’ve got my memories. They’re always inside of me. But I can’t go back, back to how it was. I believe now I’ve come too far. No I can’t go back, back to how it was. Created for a place I’ve never known.

This is home. Now I’m finally where I belong. Yeah, this is home. I’ve been searching for a place of my own. Now I’ve found it. Maybe this is home. Yeah, this is home.

Belief over misery. I’ve seen the enemy and I won’t go back.

Back to how it was. I got my heart set on what happens next. I got my eyes wide. It’s not over yet. We are miracles and we’re not alone.

And now after all my searching, after all my questions, I’m gonna call it home. I got a brand new mindset. I can finally see the sunset. I’m gonna call it home.

Now I know. Yeah, this is home. I’ve come too far. Now I won’t go back. This is home.

**

I think this song can be misunderstood. At first I thought it was about where God is calling each of us to be and that being home, but I think it is something else entirely. Then I thought it was about heaven. “I can finally see the sunset.” The sunset, looking at the sky, it always reminds me of heaven. I felt like maybe the home that they were talking about was heaven. The very first verse in the song says it so clearly. “Created for a place I’ve never known.” But that’s not the “home” that they were referring to. Home is much simpler. Home is Christ. “After searching….I won’t go back…This is home.” Home isn’t a place, it’s the life that we have found in Christ.

I’ve been thinking about this recently as I’ve been struggling at being back in America, my “home.” It doesn’t feel like home here, but I wonder if anywhere ever will feel like home. This Earth is supposed to feel foreign to us because it is so foreign. We are set apart from the world so of course we will feel out of place in it. If we are following Christ, no place in the world will seem like home. Except in Christ. Because Christ is home. When we are in Christ, we will go places to serve, but unless it is of Christ it still won’t feel like home. Like this song puts it, Christ is our home. It’s not being here or being in South Africa or anywhere else. Honestly, it doesn’t matter where we are as long as we’re in Christ and we are where he wants us. We can only feel at home in this world that is so separate from us if we are in him. Christ is home.

Share a thought or two:

