Dear Outreach staff.

Lately I’ve been listening. Just listening to what is going on around me, and it’s caused me to start thinking. The lyrics of my favorites artists. The stories from friends here, and from all of you. The hearts of believers. God is transforming them, molding them, making them. God is at work.

The things we’ve prayed for in my Bible study, some new and some for a very long time. God is there. He is answering prayer. Friends are praying and bringing their faith into their schools. God is there. He is changing hearts. My favorite Christian music artists are writing new songs about reaching out to the world with Christ’s love. God is there. He is giving passion to those who desire Him.

The world is hurting more than ever, or perhaps it is just easier for me to see it now instead of brushing it off. But God is at work. Great things are happening and I am reminded of the missions statement for last summer with Outreach Staff. The verse we chose for our summer was Habakkuk 1:5 “Look at the nations and watch— and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.” I don’t think that verse was meant solely for our summer. I think God is doing a mighty work right now. OSers be ready. God will continue to do mighty things in our lives. I encourage you all to keep on seeking Christ.

What was it that we kept singing this summer?

Marvelous Light:
Your love it beckons deeply,
a call to come and die.
By grace now I will come
And take this life, take your life.

God of This City:
Greater things have yet to come
Great things are still to be done
In this city
Greater things are still to come
And greater things are still to be done here

You Said:
You said, “Ask and you will receive whatever you need.”
You said, “Pray and I’ll hear from heaven, and I’ll heal your land.”
You said Your glory will fill the earth like water the sea.
You said, “Lift up your eyes; the harvest is here, the kingdom is near.”
You said, “Ask and I’ll give the nations to you.”
Oh Lord, that’s the cry of my heart.
Distant shores and the islands will see

Came to My Rescue:
Falling on my knees in worship
Giving all I am to seek your face
Lord, all I am is yours
My whole life I place in your hands
God of mercy, humbled I bow down
In your presence, at your throne

…and just because…

With You:
I will never try to deny,
that you’re my whole life,
cause if you ever let me go, I would die

God is at work. Let these songs, as much as they are reminders of our summer, let them also be reminders of what we are created for, and what we live for, and the purpose that God has for us. He is doing a mighty work, and I don’t think that any one of us was brought to South Africa by “chance” or because we just thought it would be a fun adventure. God called all of our hearts, and I believe that He is still calling us. Maybe it’s only overcast and gloomy in Seattle, but as we all have a routine again, do not forget what God is doing now. Let God be the strength in each weakness. He is a mighty God with a mighty work and a magnificent plan for our lives. It is my prayer for each of us that we continue to seek God with all of our hearts.

God is mighty, and I’m so excited to hear how He is using each of you. As they say in Qwa Qwa, Modimo a o hlohonolofatse.

Share a thought or two:

