Tragedy of the church kid.

As I was driving home from church today, a familiar song came on the radio, and it made me think a lot about the power of God and how church kids, I being one of them, seem to grow accustomed to hearing all about who God is and what He can do, and yet they are at the same time not active in believing or pursuing His mighty and awesome power. I want you to read the lyrics to this song first before I get into anything else. Please don’t skip over it, for I want you to be able to understand where I’m coming from.

 

What Life Would Be Like | Big Daddy Weave

I wish I was more of a man. Have you ever felt that way? And if I had to tell you the truth I’m afraid I’d have to say that after all I’ve done and failed to do I feel like less than I was meant to be. And what if I could fix myself maybe then I could get free. I could try to be somebody else whose much better off than me but I need to remember this: that it’s when I’m at my weakest I can clearly see…

He made the lame walk and the dumb talk. He opened blinded eyes to see that the sun rises on His time, yet He knows our deepest desperate need, and the world waits while His heart aches to realize the dream. I wonder what life would be like if we let JESUS live through you and me.

What if you could see yourself through another pair of eyes? What if you could hear the truth instead of old familiar lies? And what if you could feel inside the power of the hand that made the universe? You realize…

He made the lame walk and the dumb talk. He opened blinded eyes to see that the sun rises on His time, yet He knows our deepest desperate need, and the world waits while this heart aches to realize the dream. I wonder what life would be like if we let JESUS live through you and me.

All our hearts they burn with hate in us. All our lives we’ve longed for more. So let us lay our lives before the one who gave His life for us.

* * *

Now that you’ve read that, what do you think?

What struck me most was when it said He made the lame walk and the dumb talk and opened blinded eyes to see. Growing up in the church, I was taught in Sunday school about the leper who was healed, or the woman who touched Jesus’ cloak and was healed from her bleeding. But they were just stories to me. It amazes me that God has the power to take a man who has not been able to walk all of his life or a woman who has been blind since birth and make them whole. He can make the man jump and run down the street (like Rosalina is doing right now, for all of my SA friends) and give the blind woman perfect vision. He has the power to do that. Wow. He can do that.

A lot of Christians today are still in the Sunday school mindset, where God’s power is like a story. They may believe that it happened at one time, but it was so many years ago, how could it still happen today? We think today is different. What so many fail to remember is how God is constant and unchanging and His power is the same.

God doesn’t only have the power to make the lame walk. The song goes on to say that God sees our deepest, desperate need. When I am ashamed, He knows. When I am feeling inadequate, He knows. When I am scared about the future, He knows. When I am afraid to trust Him, He knows. When I feel violated or hurt, He knows. How intimate that He knows everything that makes me feel dirty and yet He loves me.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about how the American church responds to the Bible. It’s easy to pick and choose which parts of the Bible are easy to understand, and make those the only parts we allow to influence our lives. But Christ is not a character in a Sunday school play. He is not the happy singing clown in Godspell.

He died because of His great love for us and He came back to life. We hear that so often because it is a the center of Christianity, but how many times do you stop and think about it? The Creator of the universe went from being God, to being a man. Most men want to be like God, but He became less. He suffered in life, He died alone, and now He is alive, living in glory.

God’s power is so great and I am nothing, and yet, He desires me. How exciting! The God of the universe desires me. He wants to have me.

I wonder what life would be like if we lived out what the Bible says, and if we believed that the God of the universe desires us. What would change? The things He would do are unimaginable.

I don’t want the title to be confusing. Growing up in the church has been wonderful. I love my church family. Their support and love is wonderful. God wants us to have a church, to have this community of believers. The tragedy comes when we let church become a routine or “that thing we do on Sundays,” when we do it because of an obligation to family or society rather than our Savior. The tragedy I have found is God desiring man so much that He would die for their sake, and in return, man choosing which parts of God’s love he can believe. The tragedy is, God desires us, but how many of us wouldn’t give up our lunch for the sake of Him? Which of us could give up our friends or families or love?

I wonder what life would be like if we let Jesus live through you and me.

Share a thought or two:

