Testing of faith.

When I was at the gas station today, there was a guy with his girlfriend who needed money for gas and food. They had just had their car towed and it cost $411, leaving them with no money. Anyway, I told him that I didn’t have any money either, but in my head I knew that I could still pray for him. When I got home, I realized that I could take food to him, and I felt like God was telling me that I had to go back. So I drove back with bags of food, and a Bible, but he was gone.

This is not the first time that I have felt so strongly that God was calling me to give more of myself in love towards other people, and not the first time I have felt God and turned around to go back to help someone. But both times, when I have gone back, the person has not been there. It’s really frustrating because I feel so strongly that God wanted me to help them out, but when they’re not there, I am unsure whether it was just me making things up in my head, or God telling me to go love them. Perhaps God is testing me to see if I will actually go and trust Him even when the task seems crazy.

Share a thought or two:

