Dear friends, let’s be foolish.

I’ve decided that Hebrews is a very challenging and encouraging book to read.

Hebrews 10:35-36 says, “So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.”

So lately, God has been telling me that I need to wait and be patient through this time in my life. It’s one of the hardest things that I’ve had to endure up to this point in my life. I will be in Seattle for a while longer, which is not exactly what I had in mind, but I know that it is good because it is from God. With that, I continually need reassurance from God that it is good and am always asking if this is really what He wants, and if so, am I doing it right, and why am I going through this in the first place.

Basically, I just want to encourage you all to be confident in what God is telling you. Do not back down. Do not be discouraged.

“For the message of the cross if foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” 1 Corinthians 1:18

“The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.” John 1:5

Whatever God is calling you to do may sound stupid or foolish to your friends and if it does, then that is exactly what you need to be doing. If it is from God, it is supposed to sound foolish to unbelievers. People will think you are crazy, or “throwing your life away,” but you know, and need to be confident, that whatever is from God is good and perfect.

“Everything He does is right and He does it in the right way.” Daniel 4:37 (The Message)

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose….What then shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?” Romans 8:28, 31

Do not be afraid or discouraged because God is with you. Do what He asks of you and you will be greatly blessed. I am so encouraged today and just want to pass that on to you. God will do great and mighty things in your life that you will have never imagined were possible, but you have to be willing to jump off the cliff first and let Him catch you. (Thank you Allen for reminding me of this.) Do what seems foolish to the world. That is the only way to really lose your life, and in losing it, you will find it. But you have to lose it in order to fully understand just how much more you can have.

I will close with two of my favorite quotes:

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose.” Jim Elliot

“God is great and therefore He will be sought. God is good and therefore He will be found.” Author is unknown to me.

So, dear friends, let’s be foolish to the world and live as lovers of Christ.

Share a thought or two:

