Dare to fall in love.

I just finished reading this book called Crazy Love by Francis Chan. It was wonderfully challenging, yet very reassuring. My book is now found with highlighter marks on nearly every page and the margins are no longer bare. I think everyone should read this book, particularly if you find yourself wanting more and more to fall in love with Christ. So here are a few things I found terribly convicting, challenging, and reassuring and wanted to share with you:

1] In his book, God Is the Gospel, John Piper essentially asks whether we are in love with God:

The critical question for our generation–and for every generation–is this: If you could have heaven, with no sickness, and with all the friends you ever had on earth, and all the food you ever liked, and all the leisure activities you ever enjoyed, and all the natural beauties you ever saw, all the physical pleasures you ever tasted, and no human conflict or any natural disasters, could you be satisfied with heaven, if Christ was not there?

2] Noah spent 120 years building an ark and warning others of he impending judgment. Suppose the flood had never come–Noah would have been the biggest laughingstock on earth. Having faith often means doing what others see as crazy. Something is wrong when our lives make sense to unbelievers.

3] If eternity doesn’t come and God does not exist, then, as Paul says, “If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are to be pitied more than all men” (1 Cor. 15:19). If there is no God, then Paul and all the martyrs throughout history lived short lives full of needless suffering (2 Cor. 6:4-10).

But since God is real, Paul and the martyrs should be envied more than all people; their suffering was worth it. If we allow ourselves to live recklessly for Him, then we, too, will see His glory. We will see Him do the impossible.

Christians today like to play it safe. We want to put ourselves in situations where we are safe “even if there is no God.” But if we truly desire to please God, we cannot live that way. We have to do things that cost us during our life on earth but will be more than worth it in eternity.

4] But God doesn’t call us to be comfortable. He calls us to trust Him so completely that we are unafraid to put ourselves in situations where we will be in trouble if He doesn’t come through.

5] I once attended a play with my wife and some of her relatives, including Grandma Clara. During intermission, I leaned over and asked what she thought of the play. She said, “Oh honey, I really don’t want to be here right now.” When I asked why, she replied, “I just don’t know if this is where I want to be when Christ returns. I’d rather be helping someone or on my knees praying. I don’t want Him to return and find me sitting in a theater.”

______________

Ok, so now what?

Now my hope for you is that you read this book and fall in love with Christ as I have. I only gave you 5 of my favorite points, but remember, I highlighted the whole book, so there’s some more good stuff in it.

And second, please don’t be offended if I don’t want to go see a movie with you. Let’s go serve hot cocoa to homeless people. (see number 5)

Share a thought or two:

